If a language is removed from your store, Shopify will remove the translation data for that language. If your default language is changed, Shopify will similarly remove all translation data that language had. Previously, if these actions were reversed, the translation data could be recovered with a simple scan of your store, but due to a recent change on Shopify's end, this will not work and the data is lost.
You can prevent this from happening!
We have introduced a backup feature in our Translate My Store & Currency App. Even though your translation data translation is gone from Shopify, you can always restore the translation data that you have backed up with us inside our app.
We have a video guide that covers the feature available here:
To do so, you can go to our App >> Backup & Restore page:
Enable the "auto backup", so our App can automatically backup the translations periodically.
If you want to trigger a backup right away you can click the "backup now" button.
At the bottom of the page, you can find all the backup tasks.
Simply click the "restore" button if you want to restore the translation data to the backup version.
As always, if you have any problems with this feature please let us know at email@example.com and we will do our very best to assist you.