Every merchants know the importance of abandoned cart recovery. We highly highly recommend all merchants to setup this automation, so you can recapture the lost sales from both abandoned checkouts and abandoned carts. (Refer to this article for difference between abandoned checkouts and abandoned carts)
The "Abandoned Cart Recovery" automation can send up to 3 notifications in sequence to help you recapture the lost sales.
Here are the steps on how to configure the "Abandoned Cart Recovery" automation.
1. Go to App --> "Abandoned Cart Recovery" automation
2. You can have up to 3 notification, defined the time when you want each notification to be sent after the cart has been determined as being abandoned.
3. Fill up the input fields for three notifications as needed.
4. "Offer a Discount Code" (optional), you set the welcome notification to have a discount code or not. To include a discount code, you need to create the discount code at your Shopify admin >> Discount, and then copy and paste the discount code into the "Discount Code" filed. Or you can sign up on the Professional plan (starting from $0/mo) and set the automation to have unique discount code. Under this setup, the automation automatically creates a unique discount code for every new subscriber. These codes can only be used once. We recommend to use this, as it can prevent the potential discount code abuse.
Please note, the discount code is automatically applied after subscribers click the notifications. They will get the discount at the checkout.
5. Click "Save" button to create the automations.
Please note, the images and links in "Abandoned Cart Recovery" automation are automatically generated. The image are the product image in the abandoned cart; the subscribers will be navigated to cart page after clicking the notifications.
After creating the automation, you can see the overall performance of the "Abandoned Cart Recovery" notifications, and the performance of each. If you do not want to have all three notifications enabled, you can click the "Pause" button to deactivate the one you want.